The Networking Rx!

Boosting Your Pharmacy Career Trajectory

The Networking Rx: Boosting Your Pharmacy Career Trajectory

 

Hello! 👋

My name is Chantelle and I’m a guest author for “PharmacyDownUnder”.

I’m currently an intern pharmacist at a community pharmacy in Melbourne and I also work for Locumate.

Not so long ago, I was a pharmacy student curious about where my degree could actually take me. I wanted to look beyond simply dispensing medications in a community or hospital setting all day.

But, I didn’t just want to sit around waiting for an opportunity to come my way, I wanted to explore my options (fairly risk-free) as a student so when it came time to kicking off my career, I would be ahead of the game.

Thinking over the options!

I attended a networking event through my university pharmacy student association where I spoke to numerous pharmacy students from neighbouring universities, as well as a handful of industry professionals. At this event, I heard about a new up-and-coming innovative company called Locumate. The more I learned about Locumate, the more intrigued I became and I eagerly wanted to get involved. I did a bit of research, connected with the Locumate Founders on LinkedIn and decided to reach out. Fast track to today and I have been working for Locumate for almost 3 years while being a pharmacy student and now an intern pharmacist.

By simply attending one university networking event, I have now grown my connections in the pharmacy industry through LinkedIn, working for Locumate, hosting podcasts, conducting Q&A’s, attending conferences, and now being a guest author 😉

My 3 tips for networking are:
1. Be Genuine and Curious. Approach networking with a genuine interest in others and a curiosity about their experiences and perspectives.
2. Attend Industry Events and Conferences. Make it a priority to attend industry-related events, conferences, seminars, and workshops. These events provide valuable opportunities to meet new people, exchange ideas, and stay updated on industry trends.
3. Stay Connected. After making initial connections, follow up and connect through LinkedIn messages, emails, or meetings. A great way to stay engaged is by sharing relevant articles or congratulating them on achievements.

Now, you may be thinking, ‘I don’t have time to network or attend expensive conferences!’

Well, the first thing you can do that’s free and quick is connect with me on LinkedIn and stay up to date in the industry by subscribing to the “PharmacyDownUnder” newsletter.

Because a small step in the right direction is better than taking no action at all.

About Locumate:

Locumate is at the forefront of revolutionising talent sourcing within the pharmacy industry through automation, offering a comprehensive platform designed to seamlessly match pharmacies with qualified professionals. Locumate’s automated system takes the guesswork out of talent sourcing, providing pharmacies with instant access to a network of skilled pharmacists via a multi-channel solution.

Love our newsletter?

Want to be apart of Australia’s fastest growing pharmacy community?

Subscribe to the “PharmacyDownUnder” newsletter today!

Subscribe today!

Reply

or to participate.